Leslie M. Shaw, PhD, Honored with 2013 Outstanding Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine

July 28, 2013

The American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC) announced that Leslie M. Shaw, PhD, Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, is the recipient of the Association’s 2013 Outstanding Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine. The Award, established in 1952 and until 2007 known “Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Chemistry Award,” is bestowed annually. It is considered the premier award of the Association and is granted as a "lifetime achievement" award for contributions to the field of clinical chemistry.

Read more

Claudio Giraudo, PhD, Named 2013 Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences

June 12, 2013

The Pew Charitable Trusts announced today that Claudio Giraudo, PhD, Assistant Professor in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine based in the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, is one of this year's twenty-two Pew Scholars in the Biomedical Sciences. The Pew scholarships provide flexible funding to early-career scientists researching the basis of perplexing health problems—including diabetes, autism, Parkinson’s disease, and cancer.

Read more

New Gene Therapy Research Shows Broad Protection in Animal Models Against Pandemic Flu Strains, Including the Deadly 1918 Spanish Influenza

May 29, 2013

Investigators in the Gene Therapy Program, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, directed by James M. Wilson, MD, PhD, have demonstrated that a single dose of an adeno-associated virus (AAV) expressing a broadly neutralizing flu antibody into the nasal passages of mice and ferrets gives them complete protection and substantial reductions in flu replication when exposed to lethal strains of H5N1 and H1N1 flu virus. These strains were isolated from samples associated from historic human pandemics – one from the infamous 1918 flu pandemic and another from 2009.

Read more

Dr. Peter Nowell One of Three Recipients of the 2013 Albany Medical Center Prize

April 16, 2013

Peter Nowell, MD, is one of three recipients of this year's prestigious Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research, to be officially awarded May 17. Dr. Nowell shares the award with Dr. Janet Rowley of the University of Chicago and Dr. Brian Druker of the Oregon Health and Science University. The $500,000 award, given to those who have altered the course of medical research, is one of the largest prizes in medicine and science in the United States.

Read more