Clinical Microbiology


Note: The Clinical Microbiology Fellowship position for 2020-2021 is open July 1st through August 31, 2019.

The University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine offers a two-year fellowship for training in a joint fellowship program with the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania (HUP) and Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) covering all aspects of clinical microbiology, including bacteriology, antimicrobial susceptibility testing, anaerobic bacteriology, mycology, mycobacteriology, parasitology, virology and molecular infectious diseases testing. Additional training is provided in clinical infectious diseases, hospital epidemiology and public health. The fellow interacts with other areas of Laboratory Medicine, is an active participant with the Infectious Diseases divisions at HUP and CHOP, and is involved in clinically oriented research. The program is accredited by the American Academy of Microbiology and graduates are board eligible for certification by the American Board of Medical Microbiology (ABMM).


Candidates must have completed training in pathology, infectious diseases, or medical microbiology. A doctoral degree including MD, MD/PhD or PhD or equivalent is required. Candidates must be U.S. citizens, U.S. permanent residents or Canadian citizens at the time of application.


Irving Nachamkin, DrPH, MPH, D(ABMM), Director, Division of Laboratory Medicine; Associate Director, Clinical Microbiology Laboratory, HUP

Laurel Glaser, MD, PhD, D(ABMM), Director, Clinical Microbiology Laboratory; Director Fellowship Program, HUP

Paul Edelstein, MD, D(ABMM), Director Emeritus, Clinical Microbiology, HUP

Melissa Richard-Greenblatt, PhD, 2019-2021 Clinical Microbiology Fellow